California has strict laws about weapons, who may buy them, own them, how they are carried, and the types of weapons that are allowed. A person who is charged of this crime will face charges, depending on the circumstances of the case, and whether anyone was injured or killed as a result. California law requires those who purchase and own firearms to be licensed. It also prohibits anyone from carrying a weapon on his or her person or in a vehicle as long as it is in the trunk or in a locked compartment.
A simple violation of this law is charged as a misdemeanor that can result in one year in jail and a fine up to $1,000. A concealed weapon consists of handguns, pistols, rifles, shotguns, and etc. This crime can be elevated to a felony if the weapon was stolen, accused of being in gang activity, or having a previous criminal history. Individuals that are prohibited from purchasing or owning firearms include the mentally ill, those addicted to drugs, and those convicted of felonies or certain misdemeanors.
California Penal Code section 26350 makes it a misdemeanor to openly carry an unloaded gun while on public streets or in cities, as this results in up to 6 months in jail. Other weapons that are prohibited include blackjacks, explosives, and daggers.
If someone is has been arrested on a weapon charge, then the person may be facing jail time, fines, and a mark on their criminal record. It is vital that you seek help from an individual who practices criminal defense exclusively.